Current Status
Not Enrolled
Get Started


Nage-no-Kata “forms of throwing” is one of the two randori-no-kata, free practice forms of Kodokan Judo. It is intended as an illustration of the various concepts of nage-waza (throwing techniques) that exist in judo, and is used both as a training method and as a demonstration of understanding. The nage-no-kata was developed by Jigoro Kano as a method of illustrating principles of throwing to allow students to more effectively apply them in randori.  Basis of throwing techniques is acquired by practice of Kuzushi, Tsukuri, Kake and how to receive the technique on each technique.  Each of these 15 techniques are performed twice in the specified order, both right and left handed. The kata is generally performed in a strictly formalized manner with clearly defined Reigi sahō (rules of etiquette).

Learning Outcomes

At the conclusion of the course, you will be able to;

  • Recognize and demonstrate the Aisatsu (Salutation)
  • Identify the five classifications of Judo throws
  • Distinguish and formulate the key elements in Te-waza (hand techniques), Koshi-waza (hip techniques), Ashi-waza (foot techniques), Ma-sutemi-waza (rear sacrifice techniques) and Yoko-sutemi-waza (side sacrifice techniques)

Course Requirements

To Complete the Certification Process, you will need to have completed the following; background check, concussion training and Safesport certificates.

USJF Nage-no-Kata Certification Course

Module 1: Te-waza (hand techniques)
Module 2: Koshi-waza (hip techniques)
Module 3: Ashi-waza (foot techniques)
Module 4: Ma-sutemi-waza (rear sacrifice techniques)
Module 5: Yoko-sutemi-waza (side sacrifice techniques)

Upon successfully finishing all five modules, achieving a passing score of 95% on the final quiz is necessary to obtain the “Certificate of Completion.”

The certification fee is waived for members of USJF.

Course Content

Expand All
Course Requirements
Salutation - Bow
1st Set: Te-waza (Hand Technique)
2nd Set: Koshi-waza (Hip Technique)
3rd Set: Ashi-waza (Foot Technique)
4th Set: Ma-sutemi-waza (Rear Sacrifice Technique)
5TH Set: Yoko-sutemi-waza (Side Sacrifice Technique)
Nage-no-Kata Summary