USJF Education Portal


Nage-no-Kata “forms of throwing” is one of the two randori-no-kata, free practice forms of  Kodokan Judo. It is intended as an illustration of the various concepts  of nage-waza (throwing techniques) that exist in judo, and is used both as a training method and as a demonstration of understanding.

Learning Outcomes

At the conclusion of the course, you will be able to;

  • Recognize and demonstrate the Aisatsu (Salutation)
  • Identify the five classifications of Judo throws
  • Distinguish and formulate the key elements in Te-waza (hand techniques), Koshi-waza (hip techniques), Ashi-waza (foot techniques), Ma-sutemi-waza (rear sacrifice techniques) and Yoko-sutemi-waza (side sacrifice techniques)
Introduction to Nage-no-Kata

The Nage-no-Kata was developed by Jigoro Kano as a method of illustrating principles of throwing to allow students to more effectively apply them in randori.  The kata is composed of 3 techniques each from the five classifications of throw in judo:

Module 1 - Te-waza

Te-waza: Hand Technique

  • Uki-otoshi
  • Seoi-nage
  • Kata-guruma
Module 2: Koshi-waza

Koshi-waza: (Hip Technique)

  • Uki-goshi
  • Harai-goshi
  • Tsurikomi-goshi
Module 3: Ashi-waza

Ashi-waza (Foot Techniques)

  • Okuri-ashi-harai (Sliding foot sweep)
  • Sasae-tsurikomi-ashi (Propping and drawing ankle throw)
  • Uchi-mata (Inner thigh throw)
Module 4: Ma-sutemi-waza

Ma-sutemi-waza (Rear Sacrifice Techniques)

  • Tomoe nage (Circle throw)
  • Ura nage (Rear throw)
  • Sumi gaeshi (Corner reversal)
Module 4: Yoko-sutemi-waza

Yoko-sutemi-waza (Side Sacrifice Techniques)

  • Yoko gake (Side hook)
  • Yoko guruma (Side wheel)
  • Uki waza (Floating technique)